Concept Design Workshop

This past weekend I attended a concept design workshop hosted by Paul Tobin and Warren Mahy. The goal of the weekend was to reinterpret the movie, ‘Return to Oz.’ This included character or environment design in any manner you deemed appropriate. I found it challenging and it was good to get one-on-one tuition to help with things like anatomy and rendering. Was great being a learning environment focused purely on concept design.

I spent most of the first day sketching and trying to exhaust ideas. I got myself into a bit of a rut when I should have just ran with an earlier idea. The final render lost a lot of what I had originally planned, but it was good to get something in colour done.

Leave a Reply

